top of page

When a Student Quits

One of the great things about being a private lesson instructor is that I get to teach the same students years in a row. I don't get a new class every school year, so I get to watch "my kids" grow up and be a stable part of their childhood experience. That's what makes it hard when a student quits.

Generally, it is not really that the student quits. It is that there has been a change in the family. A move. A job change. Not being able to afford lessons anymore. Or the student has hit middle school or high school and has more school commitments and cannot commit to lessons and practice anymore. Sometimes, with newer students, it's just not a good fit, so they stay a couple of months then move on.

As a teacher, it is hard. I used to think it was always my fault and that I was doing something wrong. Now, I realize that there are tons of reasons why people legitimately need to stop lessons, and it has nothing to do with me. I learned that if the majority of your students are staying, you're probably doing something right. So, how do I handle it when a student needs to leave? First, I make sure that the family knows they will be missed and are welcome back anytime. I have had students or families return after a break because their situation changed and they could commit again. I have had families come back when they realize they miss it. I have had families come back when a younger sibling wants to try piano. But sometimes they don't come back, and I do miss them. After communicating with the family, I take a little time to be sad and even cry about it. It's a loss, especially if the student has been with me for several years. But when they have been long time students, I know that they can play on their own and don't really need me anymore, so I am glad to have given them the knowledge and skills they need to be able to play for fun. Once I've been sad about it, I remember all the students I still have who need me to teach them, put on a smile, and teach the remaining students and take advantage of the time I have with them. To teach. To mentor. To encourage. That is my privilege for however long they are in my studio.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page