top of page

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new students or students who have finished their books recently are working without the book in front of them. I'm used to being able to just take students through the method books and we are each looking at our own copy (when the lesson is online). I have taught this way for quite a while and I know the songs I'm teaching in what order. I know them inside and out. It's easy. BUT, with several students not having books, it means that I have to find resources for them to practice. Thankfully, there are a lot of online sites that have downloadable sheet music for free, but it does mean that I am spending more time than usual looking for pieces that will be appropriate for different students. This is a good thing as it forces me to be more creative and think more about the needs of each student. It is also extra frustrating when a student cancels at the last minute or doesn't show up. I've already put time and effort into their lesson (time I don't get paid for), and by the next week, I will likely have forgotten or need to prep again for their lesson, thus adding to my work load when I'm already extra busy.

Just a friendly reminder, be considerate of your private lesson teachers. We put in a lot more time and energy into your lessons than you realize, so make sure to let us know well in advance if you will not be at your lesson. That way, maybe we can put our focus on another student or taking a break or eating a full meal.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"My Blessing, Not My Doom"

Over the last couple of weeks, I have gotten so many requests for online private piano and group piano classes that it has been...

Comments


bottom of page