top of page

"My Blessing, Not My Doom"

Over the last couple of weeks, I have gotten so many requests for online private piano and group piano classes that it has been overwhelming. I've been finding myself stressed out because I don't have time to teach everyone. I've already extended my schedule and taken on more students than I considered capacity. I started two new group classes. I honestly have felt that I have reached my limit...and another student signs up...and I'm not entirely sure how. But through this, I have been learning a lot about my attitude and how it needed to change. I'm am incredibly blessed for business to be booming right now. There are a lot of people who haven't been able to work, so what right do I have to complain about getting more work? A poem that I had to memorize at some point in my education keeps coming to mind and does a good job of communicating the attitude that I am working on having so I thought I'd share it with you:


Work by Henry Van Dyke

Let me but do my work from day to day, In field or forest, at the desk or loom, In roaring market-place or tranquil room; Let me but find it in my heart to say, When vagrant wishes beckon me astray, "This is my work; my blessing, not my doom; "Of all who live, I am the one by whom "This work can best be done in the right way." Then shall I see it not too great, nor small, To suit my spirit and to prove my powers; Then shall I cheerful greet the labouring hours, And cheerful turn, when the long shadows fall At eventide, to play and love and rest, Because I know for me my work is best.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page