top of page

What Not to Do in a Lesson

Here are a few things that will NOT go over well in a music lesson, so please don't do them.

1) Not following directions. Your teacher is doing everything possible to help you build your skills and not completely overwhelm you. Some things will seem boring, but don't mess around and waste the time. You'll only have to do those activities MORE and annoy your teacher. Follow directions. Show you understand. Then move on.

2) Crying. I admit I've done it before. Sometimes we get overwhelmed and lesson can push us over the edge. Also, hopefully, you feel safe with your teacher. That's great. But don't just start crying when your teacher asks you to do something. If there is something going on in your life, tell me. If you just cry whenever I ask you to do something, I think you're trying to manipulate me and get out of doing your work. Nothing I'm asking you to do can be that overwhelming.

3) Stopping to talk in the middle of a song. I want to hear what you have to tell me. I don't need to hear it in the middle of the song. Finish what you're playing, then tell me. I need need to hear the complete piece (or portion of the piece) to be able to give you useful feedback. Please, let me do my job.

4) Complain about everything. I'm sorry if you don't want to take lessons and are only there because your parents are making you. I'm sorry if you don't like the songs. I'm sorry if you don't like my instruments. Don't keep telling me about it. I can't change two of those things. The songs, we can work together to find ones that you do like, but you still have to do ones you don't. Yes, tell me your opinions within reason. Let me know what music you want to learn and I will do my best to find some options that you will enjoy. Otherwise, keep it to yourself.

Just a few things not to to make your lessons better for both of us.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page