top of page

Weekly Schedules

The last few weeks, I've been experimenting with writing out my weekly teaching schedule instead of just going day to day in my phone. I put a piece of cardstock in a sheet protector and have been using a dry erase marker to write in the names of each student and each class I am teaching for the week. Once I teach it, I can erase if from schedule. This way, I can see that I'm making progress in the week. It seems like a silly thing, but it is helping me stay motivated and on track. I can see who I've already taught and who is coming up so I can prepare accordingly. I also see fewer and fewer names as the days go by, thus allowing me to see that I really am getting somewhere. Since lessons are a journey...each student is on their own journey that I am guiding them on, it can sometimes feel like there isn't really any stopping point or that its' just one after another and "oh, it's you again!" This way, my task oriented side is more satisfied. OK, taught that lesson, done. Next is this. Check! Done!

So, this has been a lesson in how changing the way you look at something can change your motivation level. Yes, take things one day at a time, but sometimes a big picture person (like me) benefits from a bit bigger of a perspective.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page