top of page

Things I Sometimes Forget to Teach

There are a lot of things that are obvious that you need to teach. For example, everything in the book! But there are some things that I forget students don't automatically know what I mean, so here are a few things I sometimes forget to teach (but I am getting better about remembering!)

Measure numbers, lines, etc. Basically, how to find a specific spot in the score. What do I mean when I say "line"? What are those numbers in the boxes? How do you find measure 22 easily?

What the word "practice" means. It doesn't mean to mindlessly keep playing your song over and over. It doesn't mean never looking at your music and coming to your lesson not knowing what you're doing because you "couldn't remember" your song. It does mean looking at your music and playing through it. It does mean finding the tricky spots and working them out through repetition, tapping the rhythm, drilling the leaps, whatever means necessary to get it right. It does mean writing reminders to yourself in the book. It does mean making sure that you can play your whole assignment accurately the first time when you get to your lesson.

That it takes time to build skills and that is OK. Progress is the main thing. I will keep reminding you of what you need to work on, but will also remind you that progress is the main thing and I see when you are doing better even when you still need to improve.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page