top of page

They Keep Surprising Me

Some students are in lessons because their parents require them to learn piano. I appreciate that most of my students have been honest with me that they don't really want to play the piano, but have kept good attitudes toward their lessons most of the time. The problem comes in when they don't practice at home like they should so it takes a super long time to make any progress and they get discouraged...I would be too. Week after week, coming to lessons and not actually accomplishing much of anything.

But somehow, these kids keep surprising. For example, one student started asking to play Beethoven songs. Interesting. I never would have thought that particular student would be interested in playing Beethoven, but, of course, I'm going to encourage that and look for appropriate level Beethoven pieces for this student. Another student can go from crying because it's too hard to being thrilled with the next song in the book in a matter of seconds. OK, I'm glad you're excited about that, but it is harder than the song you were just convinced was too hard for you.

It seems like no matter how well I know my students, they manage to surprise me with their interests and what they want to do in music, and I get to help guide them on their journey as musicians and sometimes find music I never would have otherwise.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

コメント


bottom of page