top of page

The Answers Are on the Page!

In lessons, we spend a lot of time practicing reading notes, learning what different symbols mean, and sightreading music. There is a reason for this: the answers are all on the page. During our time together, I can play a song for you, show you how to play the more challenging parts, and have you copy my fingering or technique, but when you are practicing on your own, the page is your best friend! It literally tells you everything you need to know, from where to put your hands, to how loud to play a phrase to when you should use the pedal. This is why I get frustrated when I ask you a question, and you just give me a blank stare. I don't have the answers written on my face. I don't expect you to magically know the answers or remember them from a couple weeks ago. The answer is literally sitting right there, and you are bothering to look for it. I expect that you will look at the page of sheet music and at least try to find the answer.

So, do you always have to have the music in front of you to play? No, of course not. If you have a piece memorized correctly, it's not much of an issue, but you should always have access to your sheet music (especially in lessons) so that we can address any issues.

As your teacher, my goal is that you will be as independent as possible as soon as possible. I want you to be able to answer most of your questions looking at your sheet music. If you still are unsure or you want help addressing an interpretation question, by all means, ask it. However, if you aren't sure how long where to put your hands, how long to hold a note, or what key you're supposed to press, the answer you're going to get is "Look at the page. What does it tell you?" Here's a little secret for you...in most cases, I have to look at the page to get the answer too. I don't have every song in every level of the method books and every song that I assign memorized. I have to look at the sheet music too...and if you try finding the answers first, I think you'll be surprised by how empowered you feel.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page