top of page

Ten Years Later

Ten years ago, I started my studio in Loves Park. I had interviewed for a church music director position, and wasn't hired for it. In the interview process, the pastor had caught that I wanted to teach piano, but didn't have a place to do so. So at the same time that I was turned down for the job, I was offered a space to teach for really reasonable rent. I immediately accepted. Then, I got my first student...the daughter of one of my mom's friends. I started teaching, and looking for ways to build my studio. I was pretty much desperate for students, and would do whatever it took to get and keep them...even if it meant driving a half hour each way and giving lessons at low rates. Eventually, that caught up with me, and I realized I was actually losing money on some lessons and was getting more and more stressed without getting any more income. I stopped in home lessons and took the hit in number of students. When I was ready to rebuild, I realized I needed to do things differently. I needed to charge what I actually deserved...or what other teachers in the area were charging. I needed to stop worrying about how many pages my students got through and focus on making sure they were actually learning.

Now, I have been teaching inside that church for ten years. I have built up an online studio in addition to the in person one. I realize that I have learned a lot in the last ten years and I'm proud of what I've accomplished. I mean, I have always earned more than my studio has cost me. I am at a point where teaching is my only job and my studio keeps growing. I see myself as a teacher and a businesswoman. It has taken until this point for me to own that I am really good at what I do. What seemed like a crazy idea ten years ago...starting my own teaching studio...has become a reality that is better than I ever thought. I'm excited for what this 11th year in business will bring. I'm forever grateful to the pastor who took a chance on offering this recent college grad a place to teach some piano lessons and the staff at the church who continue to allow me to use their space to give children the chance to learn music.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page