top of page

Teacher Playing in a Student Recital?

If you spend any time in music teacher Facebook groups, you will find full on debates about whether or not teachers should play in their student recitals. It's really about 50/50 and both sides make some really good points. Here's my logic on it.

Do I play in student recitals? Most of the time, yes. It started as a way to fill time in a really short recital when I didn't have many students participating. It went over well. The next recital, I had more students playing and didn't play myself and parents asked about it. So I generally do now.

Why should a teacher play in the recital? There are several reasons. It shows students something they can aspire to and gives a good example. It allows for more interesting music in the recital. It shows parents that you are a legitimate musician as well. I also tell my students that I don't expect them to do anything that I would not or have not done myself, so playing in recitals goes along with that. I expect them to do, so I will do it too. It also gives the opportunity for someone who is constantly teaching to be able to perform and keep that skill up. Basic guidelines, keep it short. Don't let kids play for 20 minutes then do a 30 minute recital yourself. Play for a couple of minutes. Play a song that your audience will likely enjoy. Then call it a day.

Why shouldn't a teacher play in the recital? It's already long. Parents come to see their kid play. They don't want to see everyone else play. It may take attention from the students. I haven't seen that be the case, but it could happen. It's more stress on an already stressful day. You have multiple teachers in your studio. Maybe one or two can do something, but don't make it a teacher showcase. You can do that another time.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page