top of page

Simple Things

Some kids are determined that they will remember exactly what they are supposed to practice and do not want to have any written reminders. OK, if they do actually remember, that's great. If they just use "I forgot what I was supposed to do" as an excuse for why they didn't practice, then we have to write stuff down and take away that excuse. Other kids know they will not remember or are panicked that they will forget something. I write down their assignments for myself, but don't want to spend all my time writing...so it's up to them to indicate what they are supposed to practice. Some write the date in the corner of the page. Others have bookmarks that they bring. Others seem to have no clue what to do. For these kids, I have a couple of options and have been surprised at how excited they get about them.

1) Colored paper clips. I bought a package of colored paper clips to help me organize/color code different levels of music and worksheets. It worked according to plan. Now, I keep the paper clips with me and when a student needs a reminder to practice certain pages, I tell them to pick a color. They they can use the paper clip as a book mark for as long as they want. I've been shocked at how thrilled my kids are to get a paper clip. But it works :).

2) Post it notes. I keep a pack of post notes on the piano. If a student wants to use them to write down their assignment, they can. Some students are really excited about it. I like them because they can stick it on or in their book and know exactly what they are supposed to work on. They can also throw away the old ones, so it doesn't get cluttered and confusing.

Both of these methods also help parents know what their kids are supposed to practice. And using the fun colors for paper clips and post it notes makes it that much more fun for students. They also come more prepared because they can't forget what to work on. Win-win-win. Such simple solutions.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page