top of page

Self-Employed: How Being Homeschooled Helps

I was homeschooled from preschool through high school. There are pros and cons to this, but I have noticed several skills that being homeschooled has taught me and helped in being self employed.

1) I'm used to home and work being the same place. It actually feels strange to me to go somewhere besides my home to do my work. I grew up living at school, so really just go to a different room (or don't) and get your work done.

2) I'm used to not having a normal schedule. When you are homeschooled, you can do school anytime, so if you wake up early and want to get it done, you can, and then have the afternoon evening without that pesky work hanging over your head. Or, if you're tired or not feeling well, you can start later and get it done when you're more perked up. Or if you have an appointment or something, you can plan to get your work done around it, and you don't really miss anything.

3) I'm used to having to get all the work done, no matter what. In homeschool, if you are sick or don't get work done, you have to make it up sometime. There isn't really an option of missing days of school and just making up some homework. You have to do it all, even if that means no summer break.

4) I'm used to trying to get ahead. By this, I mean I want to finish as soon as possible and have more free time later. When I was homeschooled, springtime meant doing extra schoolwork every day so I could get it done faster and have more days of summer break. I still try to get things done "ahead" in my work. Basically, anything that doesn't have to be on a specific schedule (ie. actually teaching lessons) I try to stay at least a month ahead of (blog posts, social media stuff, accounting, etc.). That way, I don't have to be stressed out trying to get things done last minute, and can feel like I have more free time.

5) I'm used to having to come up with my own schedule and organization systems. Especially in high school, I was responsible for getting my work done, so I came up with systems that worked for me. In my business, I do the same thing. I structure my work in ways that make sense to me. I organize my materials in a way that makes sense to me.

These are just some of the ways that being homeschooled helped me learn skills that have made being self employed work well for me.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page