top of page

One Recital a Year

In the past, my studio has had two recitals per year, one in May and one in December. This year, I've decided that we will only have one actual recital in May. There are several reasons for this, and I want to make sure everyone understands.

First, December is really busy for everyone and trying to plan and have a recital in December ends of being a small recital with a lot of families not able to participate. It doesn't serve it's purpose as well when it competes with so many other activities. It also does not seem fair for those who CAN participate to have one more thing to do in an already busy time.

Second, with my studio being about half in person and half online, I have been trying to figure out who to get my online students to be able to perform for each other. As a teacher, I want to make sure all my students have equal opportunity, and this is the way I've decided to handle it this year.

Third, I have long wanted to give students the opportunity to perform in other ways, for example at a nursing home, and want to put the December recital time and energy into finding ways students can share their music with others who would appreciate it.

So, for this year, one recital in May is all I am committing to, but I'm excited about finding other ways to let students get involved in the community instead of staying in our little box.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page