top of page

How Teaching Has Changed Me

For as long as I can remember I have wanted to be a pianist and piano teacher. I thought that teaching would be a good way to have a steady income and convenient since it can be done from home. I also like working with kids one on one. So, it seemed like a fine job. What I didn't realize is how much being a teacher would change me.

1) I had to learn to relax a bit. I used to stress out about how long things took ALL THE TIME. I would get frustrated when a student took longer to learn something than I thought they should. I would get impatient when they wanted to talk or mess around when I had a lesson to teach. Through the years, I have learned that it's more important that they student walk away having learned something AND knowing they are important to you than it is to cover everything in your plan.

2) I had to learn to communicate more clearly...with different personalities and stages of development. Each student is different and learns in a slightly different way, so I had to learn how to teach all of them. I had to learn to adapt the way I explained or showed a concept so that the student would understand. And sometimes have to change what I planned to teach because the way I am teaching is not making sense to this student and come back the next week with a new way of teaching the concept. And that is OK.

3) I had to learn to ask questions. It used to be easy for me to just explain something and figure that the student understands...then a few weeks later realize they had no clue what I was talking about and cannot apply the knowledge I thought I had given them. Now, when I teach something new, I am careful to check for understanding and review it within the lesson. So instead of saying "Half notes get two counts. This is what a half note sounds like. Hold it for two counts." And assuming they get it. Now I ask more questions "How does a half note look different from a quarter note? Right. It has a hole in it's head! The half note get two counts. How many counts does a half note get? (Demonstrate playing and counting a half note). Can you show me how to play half notes? Look at your song. How many half notes do you see? Great. Now how many counts are you going to hold each half note?" At any point in there, the student can show that they don't understand so I have a few opportunities to clarify before they have to apply their knowledge and actually play half notes in a song.

4) I had to learn to be confident. I am good at what I do. I am always getting better at what I do. In order to gain more students, I have had to learn to own being good at my job. To be sure that I can help my students reach their musical goals. Even typing it now feels like I'm being proud, but it's not pride to have an accurate assessment of your ability. I can see that there is always room to grow and get better, and I am doing that, so I am good at my job.

5) I had to learn it's about the people not the music. Yes, I want the music to sound great. I want everyone to keep developing their skills and perform excellently. I want the composers to wish they were alive to hear my students play their works. But teaching is not about the subject matter. It's about the students. It's about helping them solve problems. It's about encouraging them to keep trying when it's hard. It's about helping them grow in their confidence and ability to meet challenges. It's about being another adult in their lives that knows and cares for them.

These are just a few of the lessons that being a teacher has taught me.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page