top of page

How I Chose My Digital Piano

I've mentioned before that one challenge that I've had is not having an actual piano to practice on at home. Apartment life did not allow me to have an acoustic piano, and a shared house didn't have a good space for one. Besides that, pianos are either expensive or not very good quality normally. I also had to plan for the possibility of living in an apartment again. Than what would I do?

So, even though I have always been an acoustic piano girl, only playing digital pianos if I had no other option, I finally decided that a digital piano is the way to go. They are not as heavy, they do not need tuning/maintenance like acoustics do, and I could much more easily make a case for a digital piano in an apartment scenario (they have volume control, I can even play with headphones if I need to).

The things I considered most important in getting a piano were 88 keys, weighted and touch sensitive keys, pedals, and a sturdy stand. I also needed something that wouldn't break the bank (just a humble piano teacher here ;)) I did quite a bit of research online and finally settled on the Williams Rhapsody 2. It had the main features I was looking for and is the most affordable digital piano I've seen. The reviews were also pretty stellar including having to give up a baby grand (my dream) and being happy with the Rhapsody. There was also the video of the different instrument sounds, and it was so nice. It actually sounded like a piano!

After settling on this one, at least a big step up from my little keyboard, I waited for it to go on sale. I can never make myself pay full price for something ;). This week, I finally was able to order it and bring it home! Now I can stop just playing notes and actually play music at home. For a digital piano, it is really good. There are some setting that I have to play around with to get the sound that I really want, but all in all, it's great to be able to practice for real at home again.

Are there better digital pianos out there? I'm sure there are, but I was able to get a good one that will allow me to take the next steps in my music and my business without breaking the bank. So I'm happy. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have some practicing to do!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comentarios


bottom of page