top of page

How I Became a Piano Major

When I started college, I had had a grand total of 1 year of official piano lessons. My mom taught me basic piano and music when I was 4, then I took lessons when I was 9. Besides that, I spent tons of time working at it on my own. I loved playing the piano, and couldn't get enough. I wanted to be a music major, but I knew I wouldn't pass an audition to get into a music program due to my lack of formal training. So I started in a major that had music as a component and started with music theory and piano lessons. At midterm piano juries my first semester, I played my scales and pieces for the keyboard faculty (first time ever, except for my teacher), and the head of the keyboard department told me I should be a piano major. Wow, if I was crazy enough to think I could be a piano major, I wasn't the only crazy one...someone who knew what he was talking about believed I could do it too. So, I changed my major. Music with a piano emphasis and a piano pedagogy minor. Exactly what I wanted, and I have never regretted it.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page