top of page

Gaining Confidence

So, I've never been really comfortable teaching group lessons. I like being able to tailor each lesson to the specific student. I like not having to worry about taking turns and making sure everyone gets a concept before moving on. I like not having to deal with any level of crowd control. It also didn't help that in my piano pedagogy class, I was graded on group classes when others were graded on individual lessons (technicality since I was the only one in the class who was already teaching individual lessons outside of class at the time). Anyway, it just makes me nervous. This semester, I decided to take the plunge and teach a couple of group classes online. And students signed up. I've been teaching them for the last couple of months, and the eight week class is about to end...and two of the four students have already signed up for the continuation class. In the semester long class, one of the students got excited when she realized there are more classes after this one. I'm encouraged. Maybe I'm not as bad at teaching group classes as I think I am. If they want to keep going, they are enjoying class more than I realize, and I'm learning to relax and go with it. Maybe someday, I'll be able to really enjoy group classes too.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page