top of page

Choosing Songs

Sometimes I let my students pick a song. It can be for a recital. It can be that there are a few songs that all accomplish the same purpose, so I figure they may as well play the one they like best. In some cases, they bring me a song they want to learn. In any case, it's interesting to see which songs students chose. When I offer them choices, some students always chose the shortest one. Some chose the one that looks easiest (though often is not). How, then, should we guide students in making good choices?

Well, first off, when offering a choice, limiting options is always good. Make sure that you will be equally satisfied no matter which song they pick. Then tell them what the challenges are in each song. Just having the fewest notes on the page does not make it the easiest song. Also, take the opportunity to teach show them what factors to consider when choosing a piece. Do they like how it sounds? Does it have interesting patterns that repeat or boring repetitions? Does it have any repeats? What is the tempo? What is the mood? Does it give you things to work on (besides the skill it is meant to build)? Is it an interesting challenge? By letting students take more than length or number of notes into consideration, they can chose options that may be more satisfying than they originally thought.

If you let a student bring you a piece of music they want to play and you decide it is an acceptable supplemental song for them, point out where you think they will struggle/need to develop skills to play it successfully. Then teach them what they need to know. I generally make songs students bring in a no complaining zone. You chose it. You said you wanted to do it. Now you have to work for it. I didn't pick the song, so don't make me listen to you complain about it.

Oh, and random thought, I do like hearing what you like and don't like, but when I assign you a song, I do not want a running commentary of your opinions when you play it in your next lesson. Bring questions. Tell me how you managed to get that tricky part. But just play the song. Let me hear what you did and decide what we need to do next. Please and thank you.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Bình luận


bottom of page