top of page

Choices

I think giving kids choices is important. It helps them learn to make decisions. It helps them learn to take responsibility for their choices. It helps them have a sense of ownership and control in some aspect of their lives. There are a few ways that I give students choices in their lessons and music study.

1) The first task in lessons is always the student playing what they practiced during the week. Normally there are two or three things that I had them work on. So, I ask them which they want to play first. Some play in the order they got them. Some play their favorites first. They have a choice within limits...what they practiced that week.

2) I let students chose their recital songs. Again, this is within limits. Maybe there is a theme for the recital. Maybe I set a requirement for a certain number of pages of music or performance time. Within those limits, they can chose what they want, and I will help them either polish a piece they already learned that semester, or learn a new song for the recital.

3) I let them bring in songs they want to learn as a supplement to their method books. Yes, they still have to go through their method books, but they can bring in a Disney book or a pop song that they like, and we'll work on it. I would rather they get to play things they want to and respect their taste and desires than force my favorites on them with no regard to what they want. The whole point of lessons is helping them build skills to be able to play for life. Why not let them play what they want as part of that?

4) I let them chose games. I love playing games with my students as they are learning and reviewing things without really realizing it. So, when we have time at the end of a lesson, I normally have a game or two that will address a certain concept. If I have more than one that will reach the same goal, I let them pick which one we play. In the end, it doesn't matter if we play a memory game or a go fish game if you looking carefully and making sure that the notes you find are indeed a match.

These are the ways that I consciously give students choices in their lessons while still being the one who decides what skills they work on and ensuring that they keep learning and moving forward.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Supplemental Resources

One of the bigger challenges and opportunities I've had recently is that shipping of music books has not been a high priority, so new...

Comments


bottom of page